Evening Masterwork

Each weeknight at 7:00 PM join Susan Giles Wantuck for some of the best music ever written. Music that’s good enough to earn the title “Masterwork.” Listen for full length performances and large scale works like Carmina Burana, Mahler Symphonies, some new recordings and music that will be performed in our local concert halls. A full masterwork is featured each weeknight at 7:00 PM on Classical WSMR 89.1 and in Tampa at 103.9.

This week on Evening Masterwork

Felix Mendelssohn
Even composers have their favorites and Mendelssohn predicted his String Quartet Opus 44 in D would be an audience favorite too.  We’ll hear it tonight at 7 on WSMR.
January 25, 2016 on Classical Music

Monday - Friday 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM on Classical WSMR 89.1 and 103.9

Contact Info:

email: swantuck@wusf.org

Susan Giles Wantuck

Susan Giles Wantuck is a host, producer and reporter for WUSF Public Media who focuses her storytelling on arts and culture. She also serves as the host for Evening Masterwork, weekdays on Classical WSMR 89.1 and in Tampa at 103.9.
She is a lifelong resident with family roots that stretch back in Florida before it garnered statehood. Susan holds a B.A. in Mass Communication from USF. Her work has been honored by the Florida Associated Press Broadcasters Association.

Musical Notes from Evening Masterwork

Antonin Dvorak
Antonin Dvorak wrote his Serenade for Strings when he was in his early years of marriage, he had a brand-new baby boy at home and for once, he knew for certain that he would be abl...

This Week on Evening Masterwork

Franz Schubert
Tonight’s Evening Masterwork has a lot of orchestral oomph behind it—double woodwinds, four horns and two trumpets, to name a few. Join Susan Giles Wantuck tonight at 7 on Classica...
Johannes Brahms
Brahms had yearning down to a science. We’ll hear a work that shows that tonight at 7 for the Evening Masterwork.  Join Susan Giles Wantuck to hear Brahms’ Clarinet Quintet on Clas...
Joseph Haydn
It’s a work by Haydn that has been popular from the get-go, his Symphony No. 103. Hear it tonight at 7 on Classical WSMR.

FirstChoice eNewsletter